Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade

Leapfrog Hospital Safety award logoThe Leapfrog Group, a leading nonprofit watchdog organization on hospital quality and safety, has awarded EvergreenHealth an “A” rating for patient safety for Spring 2020.

Leapfrog’s Hospital Safety Grades score hospitals across the country on how safe they keep their patients from medical errors, injuries, accidents and infections.

The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade uses 28 measures of publicly available hospital safety data to assign grades to more than 2,600 U.S. acute-care hospitals twice per year. Each hospital is assigned an A, B, C, D or F grade.

According to Leapfrog, hospitals that earn an ‘A’ grade make it a priority to protect patients from preventable medical harm and error. 

Logo-Leapfrog-top-general-hospital-awards-page.jpgThe Leapfrog Group also designated EvergreenHealth as a 2019 Top General Hospital.

This is the first time EvergreenHealth has won this award, which highlights the health system's achievements in meeting the highest standards for patient safety and quality. It is widely recognized as one of the most competitive honors an American hospital can receive.

About 2,100 hospitals were considered for the award. EvergreenHealth was one of 120 hospitals across the country to receive a Top Hospital distinction - and the only Top General Hospital in Washington state.

Overall, the award recognized:

  • 37 Top General Hospitals
  • 10 Top Children’s Hospitals
  • 18 Top Rural Hospitals
  • 55 Top Teaching Hospitals.