The DAISY Award

Recognition for Outstanding Nurses

EvergreenHealth nurses who go above and beyond in providing compassionate, expert care for our patients are recognized with The DAISY Award. 

DAISY Award recipients are nominated by patients, visitors and staff. Those selected are honored at a ceremony on their care unit.

Here are our recent recipients:

2019 – 2nd Quarter 
Sue Bateman, RN – Home Hospice
Gagandeep Kainth, RN – MedSurg 

2019  1st Quarter  
Christen Bingaman, RN – Critical Care Unit
Kristin Eilers, RN  Children's Services 
Evelyn Sheets, RN – Cardiovascular/Neurosurgery

2018 – 4th Quarter
Jessica Clark, RN – Ortho, Spine, Neuro
Susan Gardner, RN – Hospice Care
Lisa Wilson, RN – Critical Care Unit

2018 – 3rd Quarter
Susan Horak, RN – Family Maternity Center
Rebecca MacMillan, RN – Critical Care Unit
Kayla Peelen, RN – Urology & Urogynecology Care

Nominate an Extraordinary Nurse

Patients, visitors, employees or physicians may nominate a deserving nurse by filling out our online nomination form

Criteria for the nomination Include:

  • Makes a connection with patients, families, and peers by building trust and respect.
  • Communicates important information/education needed by the patient and family.
  • Creates and coordinates an environment conducive to healing and safety.
  • Goes above and beyond.

About The DAISY Foundation

Nursing Careers at EvergreenHealth, Kirkland WAThe DAISY Foundation was established in 1999 by the Barnes family in memory of J. Patrick Barnes (right), who died at the age of 30 from complications of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP).

Touched by the remarkable care, clinical skills and compassion demonstrated by nurses during Patrick’s illness, the Barnes family made it their mission to recognize exceptional nurses around the country.