Community Service Award

Since 1998, EvergreenHealth's Board of Commissioners has annually recognized local individuals or organizations who have had a profound impact on enhancing the community's health with its annual Community Service Award. Honorees have included dedicated volunteers, health care activists and physicians.

Image of the leadership of the Lake Washington Institute of Technology, winners of EvergreenHealth's 2018 Community Service Award.

Lake Washington Institute of Technology (LWTech) has been recognized with the 2018 Community Service Award for the college’s continued vision, service and commitment to elevating the health care industry. 

LWTech’s broadened health science certificate and degree programs, combined with extensive student resources to support those enrolled in the programs, reflect its commitment to filling the skills gap and meeting the critical demand for trained health care professionals throughout the region.

“EvergreenHealth is proud to recognize LWTech for its achievement and dedication to fostering the next generation of health care professionals,” said Al DeYoung, EvergreenHealth Board of Commissioners chair. “We are inspired by LWTech’s innovation and leadership in preparing students for successful careers across the health care industry, and it’s our pleasure to honor their work.”

Founded in 1949, LWTech is the only public institute of technology in Washington and is the largest provider of health care professional associate degrees in King County. In 2011, LWTech responded to the growing need for health care professionals by opening the Allied Health Building, a three-story, 83,000-square-foot, state-of-the-art resource center that houses LWTech’s programs for occupational and physical therapy assistants, funeral service education, medical assistants and nursing.

Past Community Service Award Winners

2018 - Lake Washington Institute of Technology
- Elling and Barbara Halvorson Family
- August "Auggie" Kempf
- J. Patrick Heffron, MD; Charles Heffron, MD; Terrence Pfeifer, MD
- Donald C. "Chuck" Brockway
- Francis Riedo, MD
2012 - Teddy Overlease
2011 - no award
2010 - Shirley and Bob Ferguson
2009 - Steve Brown
2008 - Evelyn Driscoll
2007 - John Nipper
2006 - Dr. Mike Metke, PhD
2005 - Charles Pilcher, MD
2004 - The DeYoung Family; Stephen Knoff, DDS
2003 - Mitch Weinberg, MD; Marianne LoGerfo
2002 - Rev. LeRoy Anenson; Eleanor Wallis
2001 - Chuck Morgan
2000 - Concerned Citizens of Duvall; Phil Carter
1999 - King County Department of Health; EvergreenHealth Foundation
1998 - John Barnett; Michael Krebs, MD; Northshore School District